Friends of the Sun Prairie Library

Annual Meeting

Zoom meeting

November 9, 2020

Members present: 18

Greetings and Call to Order

President Sally Campbell called the meeting to order at 6:05 pm.

Introduction of current board members including liaison members:

Board members are: Sally Campbell-President, Frank Peot-Vice President and Facebook Administrator, Bill Rockeman-Treasurer, Terry Larson-Assistant Treasurer and eBay chair, Starr Seefeld-Secretary, Mardy Blaschka-Membership, Sue Ann Klein-Public Relations and Programs Chair, Joy Ninedorf-Sunshine, Mary Chermak-Board member and eBay committee, Dennis Austin-Board member, Cindy Mestelle-Board Member, Bylaw Committee Chair, Ann Semmann-Read Before Bookstore Manager, Erin Williams Hart-Library Liaison and Kenneth Wenzel-Library Board Liaison

Library Report-Svetha Hetzler

Svetha thanked the Friends for their continued support of the library. She mentioned that the library has reopening plans that the library board continuously reviews. There is no date on the reopening plan. Currently the library is in Phase IIA. This includes express technology service, librarian's choice for book selection, 24/7 book drop, and curbside pickup. Drive up window will be available soon. The library continues to provide a variety of virtual programs and services including a fall reading program for adults and children. When it moves to Phase IIB the library may be open limited hours. City Budget 2021 request include: Dream Bus, marketing position, digital services and outreach and diversity coordinator. Part of the library's strategic plan includes the racial literacy plan which consists of professional development, collection development, programming, policies and procedures and representation.

Foundation Board-Alison Long

Alison reported that it has been a season of transition and restructuring for the Foundation board. They have launched their 2020 Year End Appeal. They are active on Facebook and their website.

Minutes from 2019 Annual Meeting-Starr Seefeld

Starr Seefeld stated that there were no proxy forms turned in. There was a discussion regarding whether to discuss a tabled discussion from last year's minutes regarding non-budgeted requests from library director. Frank Peot made a motion to table the discussion about non-budgeted requests from the library director. Cindy Mestelle seconded; motion passed. Bill Rockeman made a motion to approve the 2019 annual meeting minutes. Silvia Heitman seconded; motion passed.

Wish List-Erin Williams Hart

Erin provided a detailed wish list which includes:

Wish list total:	\$9,800
Binge Bundles	(Placeholder)
Book Club Kits	\$2000
Art for hold/circulation area	\$300
Spanish language materials	\$1000
Programming	\$6,500

Treasurer's Report-Bill Rockeman

Two deposits were made in October for a total of \$2,215. It consisted of membership dues and donations. We also received \$362.55 for memberships through our PayPal account. Two bills were paid in October. \$138.60 was paid for reimbursement of postage and \$255 was paid for our ad in the Town Planner. Total eBay sales through October are \$759.67. Postage was \$123.73 and fees were \$35.79. Friends checking account balance at the end of October was \$20,923.30.

Proposed 2021 Budget-Bill Rockeman

Bill presented the 2021 budget which assumed that the bookstore would not open before July 1, 2021. Mardy Blaschka made a motion to accept the proposed budget; Frank Peot seconded; motion passed.

Proposed Bylaw Change-Cindy Mestelle

The friends board recommends to the membership the following amendment to the Bylaws:

In Article V, after the words "Dane County, Wisconsin," add

"In order to facilitate membership participation for our annual meeting, the meeting may be held inperson, virtually or some combination of both."

Bill Rockeman made a motion to approve the Bylaw change. Mardy Blaschka seconded; motion passed.

Nomination and Election of New Board Members

Bill Rockeman, Silvia Heitman, Sue Ann Klein, and Frank Peot are the board members up for reelection. Sally Campbell asked for nominations from the floor. As there were none, Rex Owens made a motion to close the nominations. Ann Semmann seconded; motion passed. The Secretary Starr Seefeld made a motion to unanimously elect the above-mentioned people to the board. Cindy Mestelle seconded; motion passed.

Adjournment

Cindy Mestelle made a motion to adjourn at 7:13 pm, Mardy Blaschka seconded it; motion passed.